FNCE Wrap Up Numero Uno

This past weekend I attended the American Dietetic Association’s Food & Nutrition Conference & Expo (FNCE) for the first time. I was not originally intending to go to the conference this year as an intern does not have a lot of free time (or cash). However, one of my rotations is with the Vegetarian Resource Group and they encouraged me to come to not only help them out, but also to experience the conference and network. And since my friend and fellow intern, Lexie was going to be my roommate, I couldn’t refuse!

I arrived on Saturday and we took most of the day to get settled in and enjoy San Diego a bit before being in conference rooms all day. We walked along Seaport Village for a while, boat watching… 

People watching…

And enjoying the view from outside the conference center.

On Sunday, I attended the session subtitled “RDs in the Medical Home”. It was a interesting perspective on a different role that RDs can play by coordinating with different public health sectors and working as a part of the primary care circle, alongside the doctor and dentist. (The adolescent in me wants to say “The Deeeeessssss! Doctor, Dentist, Dietitian. Whazzzup!) Ahem. In this role, dietitians would be doing more than coordinating, but also teaching cooking classes, doing supermarket tours, and gardening in addition to clinical teaching. RDs should not wait to be invited into this care process; make the leap!

After attending this session, I headed down to the Expo grocery store floor to see marketing at its best what kind of companies and goods were represented. I walked around for a bit, but finally headed to the Vegetarian Resource Group’s booth where I was interning the rest of the day.

While there I met a couple of the dietitians that I admire and follow on Twitter, including @eatsmartbd & @robynwebb, saw @davidgrotto & @kerigans walk by (hola!), and met a new Twitter friend @truelovehealth. Needless to say, I got totally tongue tied kept my cool when meeting some of them.

I attending the session on “Vegetarians in the Library: What’s the Evidence?” regarding the new Evidence Analysis Library section devoted to research on vegetarianism. My biggest takeaway from this was that while some people call themselves dietitians, they don’t really understand what it means.

In the evening I attended a lovely dinner hosted by the Vegetarian Resource Group at Royal India. Fantastic food, fantastic people and hey, look, I made their blog! (In the green, looking tired? in the back: http://www.vrg.org/blog/2011/09/28/another-successful-vrg-dinner/)

Wrap Up Numero Dos coming up in the next post! What to look forward to? Cows, strawberries and planes, oh my!

One thought on “FNCE Wrap Up Numero Uno

  1. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon
    this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid other customers like its helped me. Good job.

Leave a Reply

