Sodium intake and a new recipe

Whew, I have been BUSY!!  And in the midst of studying for finals and being out of town for a couple of days for my birthday, I neglected my blog.  So sorry blog readers!! 

Hello??  Anyone still out there??

A couple of weeks ago I made my own recipe!!! And it was good enough to share with you all.  The first fact alone is an accomplishment as I usually rely on recipes heavily and hardly ever branch out on my own.  But for it to be edible and worthy of posting??  BIG deal, in my own head, at least. 

I bet there are some veteran chefs that fall across this post and scoff at my novice-ness.  Novice-ness? Is that a word?

See how imperfect these are scraped out? Perfection is not my motto.

See how imperfectly these are scraped out? Perfection is not my motto.

This recipe also brings up a perfect opportunity to address the issue of sodium in one’s diet.  This was a question that many of you had when I asked you what nutrition topic you were interested in learning about most.  I did a little research on the subject as knew little about it, so I hope I can relay it in an understandable way!  If not, I have some good articles from smarter people than me that may help you understand its importance.

Sodium is introduced into the diet in a variety of ways – through table salt, natural ingredients, and processed foods.  Processed and prepared foods contribute to a majority of the average American’s diet, constituting about 80% of our daily intake.  The recommendation for the average American is 2,300 mg of sodium.  One does need sodium in their diet for the proper fluid balance, conduction of nerves and muscle flexibility.  Excess amounts of sodium over a long period of time leads to cardiovascular and kidney failure. 

It is important to be aware of this on a daily basis, not just if one is  susceptible to the affect of sodium on fluid balance, but also for the proper functioning of the kidneys.  The kidneys process and retain the sodium.  If there is too much sodium in the diet, they excrete it in the urine, but if there is not enough they retain it for later usage.  However, perpetually high amounts of sodium causes the kidney to retain too much sodium and go into failure.  The blood system is also affected by increasing the blood pressure and putting too much pressure on the heart. 

The Mayo Clinic has a good article on it and even has some suggestions for how to reduce one’s intake on page 2.

 

On that note, please be aware that there is likely a lot of sodium in this recipe as many of the items are pickled and canned. It is a fairly salty dish, but has a nice tangyness to it that both the husband and I enjoyed.  I hope you do as well!

Broiled Mushrooms Stuffed with Greek Salsa

Source: Nuts for Nutrition – Chef Megan 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 4 Portobello Mushrooms, with the stems removed and the insides scraped
  • 1 Large Tomato
  • 1/4 c.  pitted Kalamata Olives, more to taste
  • 1/3 c. pitted green olives, more to taste
  • 1/4 c. chopped pepperoncini peppers
  • 1 container of reduced fat Feta Cheese

Directions:

Turn broiler on and set top rack about 8-10 inches underneath broiler

Wash the tops of the mushrooms with a damp paper towel.  Remove the stems and carefully scape out the innards with a spoon.  They don’t have to be perfect (see picture above). Place them top side down on a cooking sheet lined with foil.

Prepare the salsa by chopping the tomato, olives and peppers.  Place them in a bowl to be tossed together.

Evenly distribute the salsa amongst the mushrooms. Sprinkle the feta cheese on the tops.  Place them under the broiler for 6-7 minutes, until the feta cheese just starts to brown and soften.

Serve with rice, rice with beans or a simple salad. 

I hope you enjoy and would appreciate any feedback if you make this!

To your health,

M

2 thoughts on “Sodium intake and a new recipe

Leave a Reply

