Spinach is Not Just for Popeye Anymore

In truth, spinach was never just for Popeye.  WAIT!  Don’t go!  I know spinach is not the most popular of ingredients, but trust me, this dish is worth it.  You can barely even taste the green goodness. 

Spinach is my FAVORITE food.  Don’t look at me like I’m crazy.  I see you rolling your eyes.  It is not my favorite because I like the taste the most, but because it has the most nutritional bang for your buck.  Or would that be the most taste for your buds?

Anyhow, spinach is loaded Vitamin K, Vitamin A, manganese, and folate. And when I mean loaded, 1 cup has over 100% of your Daily Recommended Value (DRV) of vitamins K and A.  Not only that, but it also has a variety of other nutrients from copper and iron, to fiber and protein.  All of these nutrients add up to an antioxidant-rich, health-promoting, energy-packed little green leaf.  Now do you see why I love it?

And look!  There is cheese in this recipe. And it is super fast to make – bonus!  I just made this for my boss, who is a trained chef and he absolutely ate it up, so I hope you love it as well!

Tortellini Pepperoncini Salad

(from Cooking Light)

Ingredients:

  • 1  (9-ounce) package fresh cheese tortellini
  • 2  cups  halved cherry tomatoes
  • 2  cups  fresh spinach leaves, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2  cup  chopped pepperoncini peppers
  • 6  tablespoons  (1 1/2 ounces) preshredded fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4  cup  capers
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh basil
  • 1  (16-ounce) can navy beans (feel free to omit if you don’t want them)
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.

While pasta cooks, combine tomatoes, spinach, peppers, cheese, capers, basil, and beans in a large bowl. Drain pasta; rinse with cold water. Add pasta, juice, and oil to tomato mixture; toss gently. Serve immediately.

 

To your health,

Nutmeg

Leave a Reply

