Perfect day to announce…

that I am changing my lifestyle.

After a lot of thought and consideration, I have decided to adopt the vegetarian diet. While I considered myself a “flexitarian” before (eating a mostly plant based diet with meat on occasion), I am embracing the vegetarian lifestyle with fervor.

Why is this the perfect day? Today is World Vegetarian Day and October is Vegetarian Awareness Month. The North American Vegetarian Society is even doing a contest with a pledge to be a vegetarian for one day, one week, or one month. Check it out here: http://www.worldvegetarianday.org/pledge-vegwin/

Why now? I grew up in the midwest where consuming meat was an unconscious norm and just continued that lifestyle without thought. When I lived in Boulder during my 4 years at the University of Colorado I became more aware  of the vegetarian diet, but it really wasn’t until studying nutrition years later that I recognized its benefits. Also, several films (including Food, Inc.) only made me more aware of the treatment of animals that we consume.

While this change will be difficult, especially with the holidays coming up, I am very lucky to have a supportive husband who does not mind eating vegetarian meals that I cook. Though, he isn’t totally sold on the idea for himself … yet.

I will be blogging about any trials (because, let’s face it, changing lifestyles can be hard), continue posting recipes and nutritional information, as well as discussing any other information about vegetarianism that may apply.

Will you join me? Will you sign the pledge, even if for one day or one week?

3 thoughts on “Perfect day to announce…

  1. Pingback: What is a Vegetarian? | Nuts for Nutrition

Leave a Reply

